British National Curriculum
Pineapple The British National Curriculum, as delivered in the UK, offers an introductory programme for Early Years students (i.e. aged 3 – 5 years) and subsequently clearly defined subject specifications in Primary(students aged 5 – 11 inclusive) for English (Literacy), Mathematics (Numeracy), Science, Humanities, Expressive Arts(Art, Music, Drama) and Physical Education, Starting from Middle School Section for Year 7-9 students, i.e. 11 to 14 year olds, The British National Curriculum has more defined subject specifications for English(and Literature), Mathematics, Science, Humanities, Expressive Arts(Art, Music, Drama), Design and technology and Physical Education.

Early Years Foundation Stage (Nursery & Reception, Age 3-5)
The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old.

Areas of learning
The pupils will mostly be taught through games and play.
The areas of learning are:
     - communication and language
     - physical development
     - personal, social and emotional development
     - literacy
     - mathematics
     - understanding the world
     - expressive arts and design

The student’s progress will be reviewed when they’re between 2 and 3.
Their class teacher will assess them at the end of the school year when they turn 5.
The assessment is based on classroom observation – the pupil won’t be tested.

Key stage 1 and 2((KS1-2, Year 1-6, Age 5-11)

Compulsory British National Curriculum subjects at primary school are:
      English, maths,science,design and technology,history,geography,art and design, music, physical education (PE), including swimming, and computing.
Schools often also teach:
      personal, social,health and economics education (PSHE) and citizenship.

Tests and assessments

Year 1 phonics screening check
There is an assessment in Phonics at the end of Year 1 (i.e. for 6 year olds) and standardized testing at aged 7 (end of Year 2) at Key Stage 1 in English and Mathematics, these subjects also being tested and assessed along with Science at the end of Year 6 (i.e. for 11 year olds.) at Key Stage 2.
The assessment in Phonics will take place in June when the pupil will read 40 words out loud to a teacher. You’ll find out how the pupil did, and our teacher will assess whether he or she needs extra help with reading. If the pupil doesn’t do well enough in the check they’ll have to do it again in Year 2.

Key Stage 1(KS1)

Key stage 1 tests cover:
English reading, English grammar, punctuation, spelling, and maths.
The pupil will take the tests in June.

Key Stage 2(KS2):
The pupil will take tests in June when they reach the end of key stage. These test the pupil’s skills in:
      English readingو English grammar, punctuation, spelling, and maths.
The tests last less than 4 hours. The school will send parents the results of the pupil’s tests and teacher assessments.

Key Stage 3(KS3, Year 7-9, Age 11-14)

Compulsory national curriculum subjects are:
      English, maths, science, history, geography, design, technology, art, design, music, physical education, citizenship, and computing.

Key Stage 4(KS4, Year 10-11, Age 14-16), IGCSE.

During key stage 4 most pupils work towards national qualifications - usually IGCSEs. The compulsory national curriculum subjects are the ‘core’ and ‘foundation’ subjects. :
      - Core subjects are:
            English, maths, and science.
      - Foundation subjects are:
            computing, physical education, and citizenship.
Schools must also offer at least one subject from each of these areas:
      arts, design and technology, humanities, and modern foreign languages.

A modern language is added to the subjects along with Citizenship and at aged 14 (end of Year 9) students continue studying English (Literature and Language), Mathematics, Science but are allowed to choose subjects for their IGCSE examinations. Some new courses may be added at this juncture e.g. Business Studies, Human Biology, Economics, Sports Science etc. These are studied over two years from aged 14 to 16 and the subject choices for each student are discussed with students, their parents and teaching staff.

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is an English language curriculum offered to students to prepare them for International Baccalaureate and A Level .Students begin learning the syllabus at the beginning of Year 10 and take the test at the end of Year 11. Cambridge IGCSE provides a broad and flexible study program and covers subjects from a variety of areas: Languages, Humanities, Social Sciences, Mathematics, Creative, Technical and Vocational. Most IGCSE subjects offer a choice of tiered examinations: Core or Extended papers (in Cambridge), and Foundation or Higher papers (in Edexcel). This is designed to make IGCSE suitable for students with varying levels of ability. Cambridge IGCSEs are studied in more than 70 subjects by students in over 120 countries and regions worldwide.

Key Stage 5 (KS5) A-Levels, AS-Levels
Post Year 11 students [i.e. 16 – 18 year olds] will study Advanced Supplementary (AS) and Advanced Level (A levels) examinations in preparation for University Entrance. There will be a choice of subjects and the individual programmes of the students will again be discussed with the students, their parents and the teaching staff. The Cambridge Board Examinations are internationally recognized and accepted as a gold standard for entry to universities world-wide.

Contact Us